Fundraising Concert for the Centre and Hall

Fri, January 23, 2015

Ossory Big Band-1
The Ossory 13 Piece Big Band are holding a fund-raising concert for the Fr McGrath Centre  on Thursday 29th Jan at 8.00pm in the Neighbourhood Hall Butts Green– with special guest singers – Noel Power, Carol Knox and Pat Ryan and special guest band appearance  – The Johnny Hillman Band – Tickets only €4 each or can be bought at the door on the night – The Band grew from a dream of local Butts men, Liam Quigley, and band leader – Tom Dollard,  who as a member of the Men’s Group in the Neighbourhood Hall on the Butts Green wanted to create a local Big Band and they have been rehearsing and developing their sound every week at the Fr McGrath Centre for nearly two years. The Band play purely for the love of music and all public appearances have been for worthy charitable causes. The concert in the Neighbourhood Hall this Thursday is to raise funds for the renovation work being carried out in the Hall and as a thank you to the Fr McGrath Centre for all their support over the last two years.
The Neighbourhood Hall -was once a famous and regular venue for social functions and music and the building that served as the Parish Hall for many decades- has been under going a major make over in the last four years lead by the Fr McGrath Centre and the Parish council. Board member of the Fr McGrath Centre, David Barry said:”’We hope is that this is the first of many future social functions planned for the Hall and our ambition to make it an Age Friendly activity centre that will encourage volunteers to become more active in supporting older and vulnerable people living alone in our communities. It is also very significant that local lads, Liam Quigley and Tom Dollard, who started their life time interest in music in the Hall should now be responsible for bringing music back to this important community venue for future generations.


In the band we have:-
L-R – Front row – James Rice, Noel Power, Pat Ryan, Pat Donegan, Willie Keating, Syl Knox. 
L-R – Back Row – Kevin Connolly, Billy Brennan, Frank Salmon, John Egan, Eugene Tyrell and Con O Neill.
Not in the picture -Saxophonist Michael Larkin.  Also not in picture – Band leader and founder Tom Dollard and Liam Quigley